Oak keeps telling me to just keep busy, to distract myself until I can get moved and settled.  So after yesterday morning’s pity party, I absolved myself of all my planned responsibilities for the day, except getting my hair trimmed and meeting with the painter to get he estimate on painting the new apartment.  I oped in bed and read for a while, then I went and messed around at the new apartment, met the painted, washed new kitchen stuff and put it away and just generally was present in the new place.

Picked up Violet from the airport and took her to get a drink and cheeseburger for me.  Had a lovely time, felt emotionally restored after.  Went home, read some more, slept.  Today I watched some crappy TV for a bit, sanded some furniture and then went and worked my ass off at the new apartment (one of the biggest problems with renting is that other people’s standard of cleanliness isn’t usually as high as mine is).  I got the kitchen very clean, except one last little gross part which I was just too tired to do.  I sanded and primed the parts of living room that needed it, in anticipation of the painters coming.  And I spent a lot of time just wandering around and looking out my windows and feeling how much I like the place.

Both the painter and Violet said the place just felt good to be in.  I agree.  It needs a name, as I have named all my homes.  I can’t decide if it’s get’s a proper name like fancy old manor house or if it will be something else.

Hawthorn helped me by getting me a lot of power tools today so I can finish up the rest of my furniture projects before I move.  Violet and I had a nice conversation about my choices made in good faith and Hawthorn not being a bad guy, just doing what he needed to do and simply having bad timing.  I feel better about the world in general.   I am tired though.  Good hard work tired.  MOre furtinture work tomorrow.  For the keeping busy.  It seems to work.

